Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Program Committee

Program Chair

Hugo Plácido Silva
IT- Institute of Telecommunications

Brief Bio
PhD in Electrical and Computers Engineering from the Instituto Superior Técnico (IST) – University of Lisbon, Hugo is a researcher at the IT - Instituto de Telecomunicações since 2004 and a Professor at EST/IPS – Polytechnic Institute of Setúbal since 2016. He is co-founder of PLUX – Wireless Biosignals (http://www.plux.info), established in 2007 as an innovative technology-based company operating in the field of medical devices for healthcare and quality of life, where he is currently Chief Innovation Officer. More recently, Hugo has been actively working towards making the world a bit mo re physiological, through BITalino, an open source software and low-cost hardware toolkit, that allows anyone from students to professional app developers, to create cool projects and applications with physiological sensors.?? His main interest interests include biosignal research, system engineering, signal processing, and pattern recognition, and in these topics Hugo has participated and actively contributed to 20+ R&D projects funded by national and internacional agencies. His work has been distinguished with several academic and technical awards, examples of which include the “alumniIPS” career award in 2018 and the 1st place at the Ordem dos Engenheiros Young Engineer Innovation Award in 2015, or the “Most Innovative Technology” award at the MIT Portugal E3 Forum in 2013. ... More >>


Iyad Abu Doush, American University of Kuwait, Kuwait
Alessandra Agostini, University of Milano-Bicocca, Italy
Ahmad Taher Azar, Prince Sultan University, Riyadh, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Saudi Arabia
Tamara Babaian, Bentley University, United States
Karen Blackmore, The University of Newcastle, Australia
Juan Calleros, Universidad Autónoma de Puebla, Mexico
Bongsug Chae, Kansas State University, United States
Debashish Chakravarty, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India
Yang-Wai Chow, University of Wollongong, Australia
Vania Estrela, Universidade Federal Fluminense, Brazil
Silas Formunyuy Verkijika, University of the Free State in Bloemfontein, South Africa
Carla Freitas, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Valentina Gatteschi, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Victor Kaptelinin, Umeå University, Sweden
Gerard Kim, Korea University, Korea, Republic of
Yunji Liang, Northwestern Polytechnical University, China
Youquan Liu, Chang'an University, China
Eurico Lopes, Escola Superior de Tecnologia (EST), Instituto Politécnico de Castelo Branco (IPCB), Portugal
Arminda Lopes, Interactive Technologies Institute (ITI/LARSyS) & Instituto Politecnico de Castelo Branco, Portugal
Diego López De Ipiña, University of Deusto, Spain
Daniel Mestre, Aix-Marseille University / CNRS, France
Lia Morra, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Max Mulder, TU Delft, Netherlands
Jaime Muñoz-Arteaga, Universidad Autónoma de Aguascalientes (UAA), Mexico
Spyros Vosinakis, University of the Aegean, Greece
Marcus Winter, University of Brighton, United Kingdom