Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Program Committee

Program Co-Chairs

Hugo Plácido da Silva
IT- Instituto de Telecomunicações

Brief Bio
PhD in Electrical and Computers Engineering from the Instituto Superior Técnico (IST) - University of Lisbon (UL), Hugo is a researcher at the IT - Instituto de Telecomunicações since 2004, and an Invited Auxiliary Professor at IST/UL since 2019. He is also an entrepreneur, having co-founded and contributing to the foundation of multiple innovative technology-based companies operating in the field of medical devices for healthcare and quality of life. More recently, Hugo has been actively working towards making the world a bit more physiological, through BITalino, an open source software and low-cost hardware toolkit for rapid prototyping and development of biomedical application. His main interests include biosignal research, system engineering, signal processing, and machine learning, and in these topics Hugo has participated and actively contributed to 30+ R&D projects funded by national and internacional agencies. His work has been distinguished with several academic and technical awards, examples of which include the “alumniIPS” career award in 2018 and the 1st place at the Ordem dos Engenheiros Young Engineer Innovation Award in 2015, or the “Most Innovative Technology” award at the MIT Portugal E3 Forum in 2013. Hugo is an ACM Senior Member, an IEEE Senior Member, and a officer-elect of the IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society Portugal Chapter. ... More >>

Andres Jimenez Ramirez
University of Seville

Brief Bio
Andres Jimenez-Ramirez is lecturer and researcher at the University of Seville, Spain. In 2014, he obtained his Ph.D degree in Computer Science. His research focuses on intelligent techniques for business process management and flexible business processes, hereby combining different disciplines, amongst which constraint programming, imperative and declarative business process modeling, and planning and scheduling. His current research interests are related to decision support systems applied to flexible business processes. Andres has published his research at international journals and conferences like Data and Knowledge Engineering, Information and Software Technology, Journal of Web Engineering or CAiSE. He is a member of the IWT2 Group at the University of Seville. ... More >>


Iyad Abu Doush, American University of Kuwait, Kuwait
Alessandra Agostini, University of Milano-Bicocca, Italy
Mehdi Ammi, University of Paris-Sud, France
Henning B. Andersen, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
Nikolaos Avouris, University of Patras, Greece
Ahmad Taher Azar, Prince Sultan University, Riyadh, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Saudi Arabia
Dana Balas-Timar, Aurel Vlaicu University of Arad, Romania
Nizar Banu P. K., Christ University, India
Martin Baumann, Ulm University, Germany
Juan-Manuel Belda-Lois, Instituto de Biomecánica de Valência, Spain
Karen Blackmore, The University of Newcastle, Australia
Heloisa Candello, IBM, Brazil
Yongcan Cao, University of Texas San Antonio, United States
Luis A. Castro, Instituto Tecnólogico de Sonora (ITSON), Mexico
Bongsug Chae, Kansas State University, United States
Debashish Chakravarty, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India
Christine Chauvin, Université de Bretagne Sud, France
Adrian Cheok, City University London, United Kingdom
Ahyoung Choi, Gachon University, Korea, Republic of
Yang-Wai Chow, University of Wollongong, Australia
Cesar Collazos, Universidad del Cauca, Colombia
Swagatam Das, Indian Statistical Institute, India
Lizette de Wet, University of the Free State, South Africa
Vania V. Estrela, Universidade Federal Fluminense, Brazil
Ronak Etemadpour, City College, CUNY, United States
Paul Fergus, Liverpool John Moores University, United Kingdom
Joaquim Filipe, Polytechnic Institute of Setubal / INSTICC, Portugal
Peter Forbrig, University of Rostock, Germany
Silas Formunyuy Verkijika, University of the Free State in Bloemfontein, South Africa
Carla Freitas, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Diego Gachet, European University of Madrid, Spain
Valentina Gatteschi, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Karin Harbusch, Universität Koblenz-Landau, Germany
Ciara Heavin, University College Cork, Ireland
Beat Hirsbrunner, University of Fribourg, Switzerland
Martin Hitz, Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt, Austria
Peter Johnson, University of Bath, United Kingdom
Victor Kaptelinin, Umeå University, Sweden
Roland Kaschek, , Germany
Adi Katz, SCE - Shamoon College of Engineering, Israel
Simeon Keates, University of Greenwich, United Kingdom
Suzanne Kieffer, Université catholique de Louvain, Belgium
Gerard J. Kim, Korea University, Korea, Republic of
Bernd Korn, German Aerospace Center, Germany
Gerhard Leitner, Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt, Austria
Yunji Liang, Northwestern Polytechnical University, China
Youquan Liu, Chang'an University, China
Eurico R. Lopes, Escola Superior de Tecnologia (EST), Instituto Politécnico de Castelo Branco (IPCB), Portugal
Arminda G. Lopes, Interactive Technologies Institute (LARSyS/ITI) & Instituto Politecnico de Castelo Branco, Portugal
Wendy Lucas, Bentley University, United States
Andreas Luedtke, OFFIS, Germany
Lorenzo Magnani, University of Pavia, Italy
Federico Manuri, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Frédéric Mérienne, Arts et Metiers, France
Daniel Mestre, Aix-Marseille University / CNRS, France
Lia Morra, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Samar Mouakket, University of Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Max Mulder, TU Delft, Netherlands
Jaime Muñoz-Arteaga, Universidad Autónoma de Aguascalientes (UAA), Mexico
Radoslaw Niewiadomski, University of Genoa, Italy
Yoosoo Oh, Daegu University, Korea, Republic of
Jose G. Paiva, Universidade Federal de Uberlandia / Universidade de Sao Paulo, Brazil
Claudio Pinhanez, IBM Research, Brazil
Kemal Polat, Abant Izzet Baysal University, Turkey
Nitendra Rajput, IBM Research, New Delhi, India
Steve Reames, Angelo State University, United States
Laura A. Ripamonti, Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Paul Rosenthal, University of Rostock, Germany
Cristian Rusu, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Valparaíso, Chile
Andrea Sanna, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
João Sequeira, Instituto Superior Técnico, Portugal
Amando Jr. P. Singun, Higher College of Technology, Muscat, Oman
Jean Vanderdonckt, Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium
Frédéric Vanderhaegen, University of Valenciennes, France
Phu N. Vo, Duy Tan University, Vietnam
Spyros Vosinakis, University of the Aegean, Greece
Sven Wachsmuth, Bielefeld University, Germany
Marcus Winter, University of Brighton, United Kingdom
Diego Zapata-Rivera, Educational Testing Service, United States
Gokmen Zararsiz, Erciyes University, Turkey
Philippe Zimmermann, University of Bern, Switzerland