Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Program Committee


Andreas Holzinger
Human-Centered AI Lab, Institute for Medical Informatics and Statistics, Medical University Graz

Brief Bio
Andreas Holzinger is lead of the Holzinger Group (Human-Centered AI) at the Medical University Graz and Visiting Professor for explainable AI at the Alberta Machine Intelligence Institute in Edmonton, Canada. Since 2016 he is Visiting Professor for Machine learning in health informatics at Vienna University of Technology. Andreas was Visiting Professor for Machine Learning and Knowledge Extraction in Verona, RWTH Aachen, University College London and Middlesex University London. He serves as consultant for the Canadian, US, UK, Swiss, French, Italian and Dutch governments, for the German Excellence Initiative, and as national expert in the European Commission. Andreas obtained a Ph.D. in Cognitive Science from Graz University in 1998 and a second Ph.D. (Habilitation) in Computer Science from TU Graz in 2003. Andreas Holzinger works on Human-Centered AI (HCAI), motivated by efforts to improve human health. Andreas pioneered in interactive machine learning with the human-in-the-loop. For his achievements, he was elected as a member of Academia Europea in 2019. Andreas is paving the way towards multimodal causability, promoting robust interpretable machine learning, and advocating for a synergistic approach to put the human-in-control of AI and align AI with human values, privacy, security, and safety. ... More >>

Hugo Plácido da Silva
IT- Instituto de Telecomunicações

Brief Bio
PhD in Electrical and Computers Engineering from the Instituto Superior Técnico (IST) - University of Lisbon (UL), Hugo is a researcher at the IT - Instituto de Telecomunicações since 2004, and an Invited Auxiliary Professor at IST/UL since 2019. He is also an entrepreneur, having co-founded and contributing to the foundation of multiple innovative technology-based companies operating in the field of medical devices for healthcare and quality of life. More recently, Hugo has been actively working towards making the world a bit more physiological, through BITalino, an open source software and low-cost hardware toolkit for rapid prototyping and development of biomedical application. His main interests include biosignal research, system engineering, signal processing, and machine learning, and in these topics Hugo has participated and actively contributed to 30+ R&D projects funded by national and internacional agencies. His work has been distinguished with several academic and technical awards, examples of which include the “alumniIPS” career award in 2018 and the 1st place at the Ordem dos Engenheiros Young Engineer Innovation Award in 2015, or the “Most Innovative Technology” award at the MIT Portugal E3 Forum in 2013. Hugo is an ACM Senior Member, an IEEE Senior Member, and a officer-elect of the IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society Portugal Chapter. ... More >>


Iyad Abu Doush, Computer science and information systems, American University of Kuwait, Kuwait
Alessandra Agostini, Dept. of Informatic, Systems & Communications (DISCo), University of Milano-Bicocca, Italy
Nizar Banu P. K., Computer Science, Christ University, India
Juan-Manuel Belda-Lois, Research and Development, Instituto de Biomecánica de Valência, Spain
Jens Binder, Psychology, Nottingham Trent University, United Kingdom
John Brooke, Independent Researcher, United Kingdom
Juan G. Calleros, Ciencias de la Computación, Universidad Autónoma de Puebla, Mexico
Eric Castelli, M-PSI team, LIG Grenoble, France
Luis A. Castro, Computacion y Diseño (IyT), Instituto Tecnólogico de Sonora (ITSON), Mexico
Bongsug Chae, Kansas State University, United States
Christine Chauvin, Lab-STICC, Université de Bretagne Sud, France
Ahyoung Choi, Software, Gachon University, Korea, Republic of
Yang-Wai Chow, School of Computing and Information Technology, University of Wollongong, Australia
Cesar Collazos, Systems, Universidad del Cauca, Colombia
Lizette de Wet, Computer Science & Informatics, University of the Free State, South Africa
Achim Ebert, FB INF - AG CG&HCI, University of Kaiserslautern, Germany
Vania V. Estrela, Telecommunications, Universidade Federal Fluminense, Brazil
Peter Forbrig, Computer Science, University of Rostock, Germany
Silas Formunyuy Verkijika, Centre for Applied Data Science, Sol Plaatje University, South Africa
Peter Fröhlich, AIT Austrian Institute Technology, Austria
Diego Gachet, European University of Madrid, Spain
Valentina Gatteschi, Dipartimento di Automatica e Informatica, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Toni Granollers, Computer Science and Industrial Engineering, University of Lleida, Spain
Martin Hitz, Informatics Systems, Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt, Austria
Sadanori Ito, National Institute of Information and Communications Technology, Japan
Victor Kaptelinin, Umeå University, Sweden
David R. Kaufman, Medical Informatics, SUNY Downstate, United States
Gerard J. Kim, Dept. of Computer Science and Engineering, Korea University, Korea, Republic of
Josef F. Krems, Chemnitz University of Technology, Cognitive and Engineering Psychology, Germany
Gerhard Leitner, Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt, Austria
Wen-Chieh Lin, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan, Republic of China
Youquan Liu, Computer Science, Chang'an University, China
Eurico R. Lopes, Computer Informatics, Escola Superior de Tecnologia (EST), Instituto Politécnico de Castelo Branco (IPCB), Portugal
Arminda G. Lopes, Interactive Technologies Institute (LARSyS/ITI) & Instituto Politecnico de Castelo Branco, Portugal
Lorenzo Magnani, University of Pavia, Italy
Federico Manuri, DAUIN, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Frédéric Mérienne, Institut image, Arts et Metiers, France
Daniel Mestre, Institute of Movement Sciences, Aix-Marseille University / CNRS, France
Giulio Mori, Human Interfaces in Information Systems, Institute Information Science Technologies, Italy
Lia Morra, Dipartimento di Automatica e Informatica, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Max Mulder, Control and Operations, TU Delft, Netherlands
Jaime Muñoz-Arteaga, Av. Universidad #940, Cd. Universitaria, CP. 20131, Universidad Autónoma de Aguascalientes (UAA), Mexico
S. Musse, Pontifícia Universidade Católica do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Helen Petrie, Computer Science, University of York, United Kingdom
Prashan Premaratne, School of Electrical, Computer and Telecommunications Engineering, University of Wollongong, Australia
Laura A. Ripamonti, Dept. of Computer Science, Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Andrea Sanna, Automatica e Informatica, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Shamus Smith, Computing and IT, University Newcastle, Australia
Frédéric Vanderhaegen, LAMIH UMR CNRS , University of Valenciennes, France
Gualtiero Volpe, DIBRIS, Università degli Studi di Genova, Italy
Marcus Winter, School of Architecture, Technology and Engineering, University of Brighton, United Kingdom
Diego Zapata-Rivera, Research MS 16R, Educational Testing Service, United States
Gottfried Zimmermann, Responsive Media Experience Research Group, Hochschule der Medien (VAT DE224427890), Germany
Floriano Zini, Faculty of Engineering, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy